Home

Well, I bought Butter London’s Jasper recently, from their Spring/Summer 2013 collection:

photo

 

And I put it on, and hated it. I’ll do it again, for the blog, but let’s just say that my search for a nice yellow continues. It’s bizarre, because I tend to look good in yellows, but for some reason, not in yellow polishes (yet!).

So, I turned to an old trusty polish of mine, Butter’s Disco Biscuit, from the Spring/Summer 2012 collection. A Disco Biscuit is defined in the Butter dictionary as “A club term from the rave days of the early 90’s for a tablet of Ecstasy.” I can 100% see how this polish reminds someone of a rave.

photo (3)

Colour

Butter’s website describes the polish as “Tropical hot pink with an undercurrent of tiny iridescent glitter particles.”. Totally accurate. I love this polish – it’s pink, it’s glittery, it dries really quickly because it’s a jelly. All my favourite things.  I think the sparkles are almost blue, more than iridescent, but I’m certainly not complaining. It looks awesome.

photo (4)

 

I covered it with a couple coats of Lippmann’s Diamonds and Pearls to make it EXTRA shimmery. There’s no such thing as TOO much shimmer. Well, there is, but…I didn’t really care.

Application

This is definitely a jelly polish, needing 3 coats for opacity. I do like how it looks with just two coats, to be honest, but I went for the three. It goes on really smooth, which is surprising, I would have expected this colour to be gritty. Zoya as a base and Seche Vite as a top coat.

Wear and Removal

Wore great- I got 3 days out of it, and only changed to a pale pink because I had a meeting with important people the following day. Removal was a pain, the glitter in the polish was pretty embedded into my nails, but a few minutes and it was off.

Overall

What do you think of this colour? Are neons definitely out for this spring/summer?

Leave a Reply

