Home

This colour was released in the spring of 2012 in celebration of the Queen’s 60th anniversary on the throne! I’ve said before that I’m a fan of the royals, and so obviously when this came out I had to buy it.

photo (4)

Colour

The Butter website describes this colour as follows:

This commemorative colour honours the international celebration marking the 60th anniversary of the Queen’s accession to the throne. Lillibet’s Jubilee is a silvery, lavender metallic foil that boasts the perfect amount of sparkle that is fit for a queen!

I think it is definitely a silvery lavender…though sometimes it almost tends towards looking white because it’s so silvery. I love this colour, though I think it’s on the edge of work appropriate because it is so very very shiny.

photo (1) photo photo (2)

 

I went for drinks with a friend, and the drink was a little purple-y, so I asked him to take a picture with the drink for me:

photo (3)

 

Application

One coat almost gave me opacity, but I went for two. It went on pretty smooth, which is nice because I find foils tend to be a little gloopy.  I used Zoya’s base, and Lippmann’s Flat Top – hoping (in vain…) that it would make the polish more muted and work appropriate. My plain failed, this polish is so shiny that even a matte top coat couldn’t dull the shimmer, though it did bring it down a notch.

Wear and Removal

This colour wore pretty well, I got 3 days out of it, even with my naughty gym bag. Removal of foils is a bit of a pain, but not terrible like a glitter or flakey.

Overall

This colour is a bit shiny for work, in my opinion, but it is perfect for nights out on the town, cocktail parties, etc. It definitely adds shimmer to a little black dress type of evening.

Leave a Reply

