Home

A good friend lent me this colour as part of our polish exchange! I recommend setting one up with your friends, it practically doubles one’s polish collection!

I’m not a green lover, as I mentioned in my last post, but, I was willing to give this one a shot, since it looked so cool in the bottle:

P1080267P1080269

Colour

Sephora describes this colour as a peacock green with a metallic finish- I think that’s pretty accurate, there is a bluish undertone to the colour. This is a really nice green, better than many, and since emerald green is the Pantone colour of the year, maybe I should start loving green, but…green just rarely if ever gets me excited, particularly dark greens, I’m more forgiving of grass greens. This is certainly one of the better greens out there, but I still don’t love the colour, though that’s my issue with green. I can see how others would adore this colour.

P1080265

Application

Stellar- almost full opacity with one(!) coat. That’s fantastic. I went for two, but it really wasn’t needed in the way that some other colours need 2 coats. It was nice and smooth going on. I think the one downside is that the dry time was a little longer than usual, and I used Lippmann’s Hard Rock as the top coat instead of Seche Vite, so as you’ll see, I had a dent in my ring finger pretty quickly. That being said, I was impressed enough with the formula overall that I’d give Illamasqua a try in the future, even with the dry time.

Removal/ Wear

This was a highly pigmented polish, so I’m glad I doubled up on the base, since I think this may have stained otherwise. Pretty simple removal. I have no commentary on the wear, since I only left the polish on for one day.

Discussion

How does everyone else feel about green? I’m sure I’m being crazy with my green issues, because I know it looks nice against my skin, but…meh?

5 thoughts on “Illamasqua’s Viridian

    • None of my friends were outwardly into polish until I started talking about it constantly! Since then, a few have come out of the woodwork, and you only need one or two friends to start an exchange! 🙂

  1. I only heard of Illamasqua recently, but they seem to have some innovative products and finishes, so I would be interested in trying out some more. It looks like Raindrops is quite popular in the blogosphere.
    This colour looks really nice on you, so I think you just have some kind of mental block that’s preventing you from appreciating the dark greens.

    • You’re right, I do have a block with the dark greens- I always feel so blah in them. Sort of like how I feel garish in bright orange polishes, though that’s another post, isn’t it?

      It’s weird, because I’m totally happy seeing those colours on others, and in fact, I’m even fine with how they photograph when they’re on my fingers- similar to visible nail line, it looks fine in a picture, but I just don’t love looking at my fingers day to day. If I can’t smile at my fingers, then there’s no point to polish, in my opinion…

  2. Pingback: Zoya’s Suri + Zoya’s Meg | The Weekly Polish Report

Leave a Reply

