Home

Well, after a nice little break for the holidays, I’m back with a great pair of colours: Butter London’s Royal Navy and OPI’s The Man With A Golden Gun.

I love these colours together, they remind me of a ceiling that I saw while I was in Rome or Prague- I tried so hard to find a photo of the ceiling that I was looking for, but I just could not. Regardless, it was a ceiling of either a church or synagogue, and it had these gorgeous blue ceilings, with gold stars allll over it, so beautiful.

Royal Navy and MWGG

Colour

Royal Navy from Butter London is aptly named- it’s a beautiful true navy.  Butter’s dictionary says “[…] the oldest of the British armed services and played a key part in establishing the British Empire”, and describes the colour as “Hellooo Sailor. Nautical and naughty, this navy is the answer to your dark lacquer dreams”. They’re right- this is a delightful colour, that’s deep and rich, and clearly blue. Dark colours can tend towards black, and I’m very careful when buying dark colours to make sure that they actually look like the colour they are, and not black. I think it’s good for work because navy is really quite a conservative colour, and yet it’s interesting (not that I don’t love a good nude polish….).

The Man With a Golden Gun (“MWGG”)from OPI was a great gift that I received this holiday season. It’s a clear polish with real gold flakies in it! MWGG is not a polish that I would use without a colour base, but I think it’s a great addition to the top of many of my existing polishes.

photo (2)

photo (1)

I like that in this photo you can see how it looks in both shade and light!

Application

Royal Navy applies streaky on the first coat, but provides full opacity on two coats. I’ve actually had this polish for quite a while, and I thought I had photos of it without the gold, but I was wrong, oops Even though I’ve had it for a while, it’s not gloopy or anything, it’s still got a nice smooth application, which I love.

MWGG, however, is lucky that it looks pretty, because it’s a bit of a pain to get the flakes out of the bottle and on the brush. I’ve found the best way is instead of putting the entire brush in the polish, and then wiping off the excess around the lip of the bottle, to instead to dip the very tip of the brush into the bottle, and get just what you need for that nail on the tip of the brush. The photos above have two coats- I think one coat is nice too, but I went for 2 this time.

Wear

This is wearing quite well, which is surprising as I didn’t use a top coat- it was late, and I was sleepy. It’s been three days, and no visible wear so far, so I’m quite impressed.

Removal

Well, removal of both is actually quite easy- the flakies in MWGG come off easily, probably because they’re on top of a regular polish instead of IN the polish, so it doesn’t get all stuck to my nail. Royal Navy can tend towards staining the nail unless you use a good base.

Overall

I love these colours together! MWGG is a bit of a pain to apply, but both are easy to remove, and they wear well. I have no hesitation in recommending both of these polishes!

What does everyone think? Is navy a classic and work appropriate or is it too dark? Would this polish be better without the gold flakeys?

4 thoughts on “Royal Navy and Man With A Golden Gun

  1. I love any of the real gold flakie topcoats over navy polish! I’m in a super-conservative office and I’ll wear navy occasionally. I think it’s work appropriate in the winter.

    • I’ll give it a try! Or perhaps lend the polishes to a friend for her review…

      Were you thinking MWGG over Butter’s Slapper? Or did you have another teal in mind? I think Slapper might be my only teal..hmmm…

Leave a Reply

