Home

Fiddlesticks!

I’m not going to lie, I’ve been pretty unimpressed by Butter London’s recent collections- I haven’t found them particularly inspiring since the summer (Slapper is still one of my all time favourites, but I digress…). This fact makes me sad, because I really do love their polishes, I think they apply well, wear well, and the bottles are easy to store, because they’re rectangular.

Another reason that I love Butter’s colours is the names! They have a Butter London Dictionary on their website, and Fiddlesticks’s definition isn’t up yet, but I’m looking forward to it.

Anyways, back to the polish- Fiddlesticks by Butter London. I used Essie’s Feed Me as a base, and Seche Vite as a top.

P1080181

As you can see, it’s a deep pink/magenta colour, with magenta and hints of black sparkles that are barely noticeable (you can sort of see the depth of the sparkle with a closer photo).  Butter’s website describes it as a “full coverage, semi-matte, magenta glitter suspended in a raspberry base”. I think raspberries tend more towards red than this, but sure, I can see how they think raspberry.

Fiddlesticks!

I love this colour! It’s pink, and sparkly!

It was easy to apply- 2 coats to hide visible nail line.  It wasn’t gloopy or too thin, and the sparkles applied evenly, which was great. Interestingly, it dried a little bit matte, which I did not expect, but I liked. Since I put Seche Vite on top, it’s shiny, but I can definitely see trying this again with Lippmann’s Flat Top. It dried very quickly, I think because it is a partial matte. It was also a little gritty when it dried, which I don’t mind because I’m into textures, but I can see some people finding it annoying.

For the bad- it did not wear particularly well my index fingers were both chipped within 2 days. To be fair, I did embark on a cleaning spree, so my nails were subjected to a lot of soap/water, but really…2 days is not great. I can see this needing a more durable top coat than Seche, which is really more of a quick dry top, and given that the colour itself dried so quickly, I could probably suffer the wait for a more resistant top coat, like Lippman’s Hard Rock.

Removal was actually easier than expected, much much easier. Sure, it’s a glitter,and they’re always a pain, but it is definitely an easy removal for a glitter.

Overall, I love this colour. It filled a gap in my collection, being a more magenta/raspberry pink, which I don’t really have, and obviously the fact that it is a semi-matte glitter is just the icing on the cake for me. This will definitely be worn time and time again, so hopefully I can figure out which top coat will save me from chips!

Leave a Reply

